• Home
  • About Us
  • News & Press
  • 2016 Great American Gardeners Awards
  • News & Press

    Meet the 2016 Great American Gardeners

    2016 Great American Gardeners Awards

    2016 Great American Gardeners Awards

    The American Horticultural Society (AHS) is pleased to announce the distinguished recipients of the Society’s 2016 Great American Gardeners Awards. Individuals, organizations, and companies that receive these awards represent the best in American gardening and horticulture. Each has contributed significantly to fields such as plant research, garden communication, landscape design, youth gardening, floral design, and teaching.

    Among this year’s winners is John G. Fairey, Regents Professor (retired) in the Department of Architecture at Texas A&M University and founder of Peckerwood Garden in Hempstead, Texas, who is receiving the AHS’s highest honor, the Liberty Hyde Bailey Award, for his many important contributions to horticulture. The AHS applauds all of this year’s recipients for their passionate commitment to American gardening and their outstanding achievements within their area of expertise. This year’s Great American Gardeners Award recipients are:

    • John G. Fairey (Hempstead, Texas)—Liberty Hyde Bailey Award
    • Charles Hess, Ph.D. (Davis, California)—H. Marc Cathey Award
    • Scott Skogerboe (Fort Collins, Colorado)—Paul Ecke Jr. Commercial Award
    • Carol R. Johnson (Boston, Massachusetts)—Landscape Design Award
    • Leslie S. Ariail (Alexandria, Virginia)—Meritorious Service Award
    • Jeff Lowenfels (Anchorage, Alaska)—B.Y. Morrison Communication Award
    • MaryEllen J. M. O’Brien (Sheffield, Massachusetts)—Frances Jones Poetker Award
    • R. William Thomas (Wayne, Pennsylvania)—Professional Award
    • Kitty and Tom Stoner (Annapolis, Maryland)—Catherine H. Sweeney Award
    • Kathy Sapp Lovett and Lee Lovett (Gainesville, Georgia)—Jane L. Taylor Award
    • Terry L. Ferriss, Ph.D. (Hastings, Minnesota)—Teaching Award
    • Timothy M. Kant (Fairhope, Alabama)—Urban Beautification Award

    On Thursday, June 2, 2016, the American Horticultural Society will honor these award recipients during the Great American Gardeners Awards Ceremony and Banquet. This event will be held at the Society’s headquarters at River Farm in Alexandria, Virginia, with Presenting Sponsor Marcia and Klaus Zech in honor of Jane Diamantis, Awards Committee Chair. For more information, please visit www.ahsgardening.org/awards.

    # # #
    The American Horticultural Society (AHS), founded in 1922, is an educational, nonprofit, 501(c)(3) organization that recognizes and promotes excellence in American horticulture. One of the oldest and most prestigious gardening organizations, AHS is dedicated to making America a nation of gardeners, a land of gardens. Its mission is to open the eyes of all Americans to the vital connection between people and plants, to inspire all Americans to become responsible caretakers of the Earth, to celebrate America’s diversity through the art and science of horticulture; and to lead this effort by sharing the Society’s unique national resources with all Americans.