• Home
  • About Us
  • News & Press
  • 2017 Book Awards
  • News & Press

    Announcing the 2017 Book Award Recipients

    2017 Book Awards

    2017 Book Awards

    Over the last two decades, the American Horticultural Society (AHS) has been recognizing outstanding gardening books published in North America with its annual Book Award. Books are judged by the AHS Book Award Committee on qualities such as writing style, authority, originality, accuracy, and design quality. This year’s five recipients, published in 2016, are:

    • All the Presidents' Gardens by Marta McDowell (Timber Press)
    • The Bee-Friendly Garden by Kate Frey and Gretchen LeBuhn (Ten Speed Press)
    • Garden Revolution by Larry Weaner and Thomas Christopher (Timber Press)
    • PLANT by the editors at Phaidon Press 
    • Rock Gardening by Joseph Tychonievich (Timber Press)

    The 2017 Book Awards will be presented on Thursday, June 8 during the Great American Gardeners Awards Ceremony and Banquet at River Farm, the AHS’s national headquarters in Alexandria, Virginia. For more information about the awards, visit www.ahsgardening.org/awards.

    # # #

    The American Horticultural Society (AHS), founded in 1922, is an educational, non-profit, 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to making America a nation of gardeners, a land of gardens. Its mission is to open the eyes of all Americans to the vital connection between people and plants, to inspire all Americans to become responsible caretakers of the Earth, to celebrate America’s diversity through the art and science of horticulture; and to lead this effort by sharing the Society’s unique national resources with all Americans.