• Home
  • AHS Book Award Nominations

    Publishers may nominate their garden-related titles.

    AHS Book Award Nominations

    Nomination Guidelines

    We are now accepting nominations for the 2018 Book Award until December 30, 2017. Publishers may nominate as many candidates as they wish, as long as they meet the following requirements:

    • Published in 2017.
    • Publisher must be based in North America.
    • Books must be original editions or have been significantly revised and updated.
    • Book authors must either reside principally in North America or their work must demonstrate familiarity with, and sensitivity to, gardening conditions, plant choices, and design aesthetics relevant to American gardeners.

    Nominated books are judged not just on writing, but on overall quality including art (photography, illustration, and/or graphics), design, and quality of production. Up to five books will be chosen to receive the award each year.

    To nominate a book, complete the online nomination form. Upon doing so, you will receive the list of AHS Book Award Committee members who must each receive a copy before December 30. A copy also must be sent to the AHS Book Award Committee Liaison, whose address will be included with the committee's contact information. The nomination will not be considered complete until these copies have been received.