The Great American Gardeners Awards 


Once a year, the American Horticultural Society (AHS) solicits nominations from the general public for the nation’s top individuals and organizations in gardening/horticulture, and presents awards to the “Horticultural Champions” in a variety of categories. We’re proud to honor these Great American Gardeners.



Evolution of the Great American Gardeners Awards Program:

The AHS Awards Program was initiated in 1953 and originally offered four awards: the Horticultural Writing Award, Professional Award, Teaching Award, and Scientific Award. It has grown and evolved over the years to the current Great American Gardeners Awards Program.  Each award honors individuals or organizations exemplifying the art, science, and environmental responsibility of horticulture in North America.

Meet the winners of the 2024 Great American Gardeners Awards.

Nominations are Now Open for 2025:

Do you know someone in the gardening community who deserves recognition for horticultural excellence? Nominate your “horticultural champion”an exemplary sustainable garden, a thought leader delivering groundbreaking research, or the driving force behind horticultural innovation. Seven categories of awards (outlined below) will be recognized in 2025. Please submit your nomination here. Nominations closed on September 27, 2024.

For individuals, organizations, or companies interested in sponsoring next year’s award season, email for more information.

Description of Awards Offered in 2025:


Liberty Hyde Bailey Award

Previous Winners

Given to an individual who has made significant lifetime contributions to at least three of the following horticultural fields: teaching, research, communications, plant exploration, administration, art, business, and leadership.

Named after Liberty Hyde Bailey (1858-1954), horticulturist, educator, author. First awarded in 1958.

Jane L. Taylor Award

Previous Winners

Given to an individual, organization, or program that has inspired and nurtured future horticulturists through efforts in children’s and youth gardening.

Named for Jane L. Taylor, youth advocate, horticulturist, educator. First awarded in 2000.

Emerging Horticultural Professional Award

Previous Winners

Given in the early stages of an individual’s career, this award recognizes significant achievements and/or leadership that have advanced the field of horticulture in America.

This award debuted in 2017.

Garden Stewardship Award

Previous Winners

Given to a public garden that embraces and exemplifies sustainable horticultural practices in design, maintenance, and/or programs.

This debuted in 2021.

B. Y. Morrison Communication Award (odd years only)

Previous Winners

Recognizes effective and inspirational communication – through print, radio, television, and/or online media – that advances public interest and participation in horticulture.

Named for Benjamin Yoe Morrison (1891-1966), Landscape Architect, Plant Breeder, Artist. Formerly known as the Horticultural Communication Award, it was first awarded in 1987. This award merged with the Horticultural Writing Award (which debuted in 1953) in 2005.

Landscape Design Award (odd years only)

Previous Winners

Given to an individual whose work has demonstrated and promoted the value of sustainable horticultural practices in the field of landscape architecture.

First awarded in 1974. Previously given to individual or company.

Frances Jones Poetker Award (odd years only)

Previous Winners

Recognizes significant contributions to floral design in publications, on the platform, and to the public.

Named for Frances Jones Poetker, floral designer, author, lecturer. First awarded in 1988.

Other awards offered

Community Greening Award (even years only)

Previous Winners

Given for exemplary contributions by an individual, institution, or company that demonstrate the application and value of horticulture to creating livable communities that are greener, healthier, and more equitable.

First awarded in 1985 as the Urban Beautification Award; renamed for 2019.

H. Marc Cathey Award (even years only)

Previous Winners

Recognizes outstanding scientific research that has enriched the field of horticulture.

Named for H. Marc Cathey, researcher, horticulturist, administrator. Formerly known as the Scientific Award, it was first awarded in 1953.

Horticultural Innovation Award (even years only)

Previous Winners

Given to an individual or company whose innovations have made the field of horticulture more sustainable and accessible to all.

New in 2022. Previously given as Luther Burbank Award, Paul Ecke Jr. Commercial Award, and G.B. Gunlogson Award.

Horticultural Therapy Award (Rolling Basis)

Previous Winners

Recognizes significant contributions to the field of horticultural therapy.

First awarded in 1985.

Meritorious Service Award (Rolling Basis)

Previous Winners

Recognizes outstanding service and generosity in support of the American Horticultural Society and sustainable gardening.

First awarded in 1980.

Teaching Award (Rolling Basis)

Previous Winners

Given to an individual whose ability to share his or her horticultural knowledge with others has contributed to a better public understanding of the plant world and its important influence on society.

First awarded in 1953.