A Dedicated Team


The American Horticultural Society’s Board of Directors and staff work closely together to operate our national non-profit and to provide for the stewardship of our River Farm headquarters.

Our Board brings to the table a broad range of talents and expertise that help guide our organization’s mission, while our staff carries out the day-to-day tasks required to achieve our goals.

Learn about careers at AHS.


Erich Veitenheimer

Terry Hayes
Vice Chair

Amy Bolton
Immediate Past Chair

Nancy Ross

Holly Shimizu
Secretary and Awards Committee Chair

Mary Pat Matheson
Finance Committee Chair

Marcia Zech
Development Committee Chair

R. Ellen Avellino
Skipp Calvert
Tim J. Conlon
Laura Dowling
Rachel Muir
Bob Murray
Cindy Tyler


Katy Moss Warner
President Emeritus


Leslie Bauman
Rental & Venue Sales Supervisor 

Bob Brackman
Interim Executive Director

Janet Daniels
Director of Accounting

David Ellis
Director, Communications & Editor of The American Gardener

Leslie Fetty
Member Services Associate

Susan D. Klejst
Vice President of Development

Nora K. MacDonald
Associate Director, Membership & Member Programs

Heather Prince
Associate Editor

Matt Pruett
Lead Gardener

Dan Scott
Director of Horticulture

Katherine Somerville
Associate Manager, Programs

Joan Wright
Interim Chief Financial Officer

Mary Yee
Managing Editor & Art Director

Bart Zerfas
Development Coordinator