AHS News & Blog

2024 Great American Gardeners Awards Nomination Open!

Nominations are now being accepted for the AHS’s 2024 Great American Gardeners Awards. This is your chance to help recognize individuals and organizations from throughout North America for exceptional contributions to American horticulture and gardening. Six categories of awards (outlined below) will be recognized in 2024. Nominations will be accepted through September 29, 2023. Nominate today!

The Awards being offered in 2024 are: 

Liberty Hyde Bailey Award 

Given to an individual who has made significant lifetime contributions to at least three of the following horticultural fields: teaching, research, communications, plant exploration, administration, art, business, and leadership. 

Emerging Horticultural Professional Award 

Given in the early stages of an individual’s career, this award recognizes significant achievements and/or leadership that have advanced the field of horticulture in America. 

Garden Stewardship Award 

Given to a public garden that embraces and exemplifies sustainable horticultural practices in design, maintenance, and/or programs. 

Horticultural Innovation Award  

Given to an individual or company whose innovations have made the field of horticulture more sustainable and accessible to all.

Marc Cathey Award

Recognizes outstanding scientific research that has enriched the field of horticulture. 

Jane L. Taylor Award 

Given to an individual, organization, or program that has inspired and nurtured future horticulturists through efforts in children’s and youth gardening. 

Nominate your “horticultural champion”—an exemplary sustainable garden, a thought leader delivering groundbreaking research, or the driving force behind horticultural innovation. Nomination form available here.